Healthy Skin, Hair and Nails

As I travel demonstrating the Creative Feet I keep getting asked the same questions regarding my appearance, such as.

“Your skin looks amazing, what are you doing?”
“You look younger than you did 5 years ago, why?”
“Your hair is so thick and long, I wish my hair would look like that.”

If you would have asked me 5 years ago, if I thought people would be saying these things, I’d say with certainty. “ABSOLUTELY NOT.”

What started as a quest to not lose all of my hair, became a change in lifestyle that continues to surprise me everyday. I have more stamina, my hair is thick and long. In-fact, my hair is longer than it’s been since I was age 16! I can’t say that it’s one thing or even two that has made this change but a compilation of several changes I’ve made that as a combination has changed my appearance and my overall well-being and mood.

Hair-Loss and/or Breakage
I found that an under-functioning Thyroid was a key factor to reversing this. I didn’t have any particular condition, my thyroid tested in the “normal-low” range and that, explained my physician, did not require any treatment. However, a conversation I had with a Chiropractor years back kept playing in my head. This doctor, years ago had me hold my arms up in front of me and then pushed down on my hands; after doing so, he said I needed Thyroid food supplements. Now, given this was many, many years back and my mind was not as open to homeopathic medicine as it is now, I discarded the statement as “they are just trying to sell me this stuff”. However, I did in-fact purchase and attempt to use it until my “little girl” inside me said. “This stuff smells terrible and it probably doesn’t even work.” So, I behaved like a child and stopped taking it and am not sure how my life would have evolved had a taken it as prescribed.

Years passed and life continued to be a struggle with food and weight from allergies that I’ve talked about throughout this blog, so to speed things up, this post is to share the products I’ve adopted as part of my daily regimen for those of you wanting to know.

HAIR SKIN & NAIL HEALTH

Atomodine: $15-$18
Liquid Seaweed drops full of Iodine – this one has more Iodine per drop than competitors that I’ve researched. You can find it at Nature’s Grocers, New Frontiers and probably may other health food stores. I attribute this to the elimination of several symptoms that I had prior to using the drops. I had been conducting my own science experiment on my hair health because me and many others I know were all experiencing hair breaking off in 1″ segments and it curling up and pointing out in odd directions.

We thought it may be the increased use of Hair Straighteners, burning the hair, however I was also losing mine at an astonishing rate as pictured in past posts. I went from losing hundreds in a single washing to only 14 from only 1 drop, when I should have been taking 1 dropper full of the Atomodine!

I also went from not being able to walk around the block without fear of twisting and ankle – couldn’t reach my toes, had lost all of my flexibility and suddenly got it back from again, 1 drop.

I had an incredible, almost superhuman amount of stamina and strength from -1- drop!

I have better mood, a clearer mind, more energy, less wrinkles, clearer voice, more range in my singing voice, eyesight improved and has stayed steady for years, hair doesn’t break any longer, stopped losing hair so much I can clean my brush once a week and see what I use to lose in one brushing and the list goes on…..

I am allowed only a small amount of liquids on my flights and I always use up part of that with my bottle of Atomodine for fear of all of that changing should I stop.

If you choose to add this to your diet, please first, write down all that you notice about yourself right now. Make a list of all of your symptoms and then list the pain or annoyance level from 1-10. After 1 day, choose the level for that issue and continue then weekly and remember that it took a few years for my hair to reach the point it is now, it took time to grow back.  Here’s an article and location to purchase if you’re unable to run out right now and buy yourself some. http://amaluxherbal.com/affiliated/atomidine.htm
atomodine UPDATE: I switched from Atomodine to IOSOL iosol

BIOTIN $21 (Buy one get one free sales happen often at CVS Pharmacy)

I purchase a Biotin vitamin capsule (non wheat) I use the cellulose capsules because of exposure risk of Tocopherol derived from one of my allergens, used to release vitamins from molds. I purchased Nature’s Bounty and ingested 5,000mcg/day for about 1 year. I recently discovered I can take 10,000mcg/day and began that dose in December, 2013. I’ll make notes if I see any changes.

NAILS = I had ridges on the surface of my nails that clearly stop when taking Biotin and when I stop for a few days they reappear. Proof to me we/I need this vitamin and know that they are not all created equal – this one works!
biotin

CHANGES NOTED:

Hair is thicker Atomidine stopped the breakage and fall out but Biotin seemed to give rebirth to all of my hair follicles and now, after a year of being diligent about taking it daily, my hair is officially longer than it has ever been in my lifetime and so thick it’s almost laughable if I don’t use my process to control it’s natural curl.

2 Family members at a recent gathering, where we shared a home yelled out WOW! Your hair looks like a lion’s mane! (I don’t like that but love having the hair back)

*** CYSTIC ACNE
There have been cases of Biotin causing Cystic Acne from taking Biotin supplements. If you begin getting large pustules on your face, cease taking the supplements. As I’ve mentioned, each BODY is different. We all have a similar bio-system – not identical, so you need to pay attention to your body and your body’s reaction to each change you make. 🙂

APPLE CIDER VINEGAR $3-$5

I use Mother’s Bragg Brand unfiltered (keep it as natural as you can) however, I’ve used other’s in the past with similar results and it’s great for cleaning.
I cannot sing this enough praises! Set aside the fact it stopped my feet from unbearable pain, the fact it makes your stomach feel GREAT! This product is like drinking “LIFE” but is a bit tough to swallow. Here’s an article that speaks from the medical practice’s view on the subject. There are some cautions to take that I’d not seen on any other site about risk of lowering your potassium levels, so be sure to add banana’s to you diet. I eat one each day for breakfast, it’s a safe food but have found that if I don’t eat an organic banana, I get heartburn… odd

So, after you research your ACV risks – know this, I LOVE IT! Nothing has affected me as much as this, for so many reasons but this post is about Hair, Skin & Nails, so here goes…

I place 2 TBSP of ACV into a glass and add my daily dose of Atomodine into the glass, add a bit of high quality cinnamon for it’s health benefits and then add equal parts of water. I sometimes add locally produced honey, to help with plant allergies but normally just add that into my baked bread. I drink this down (fast) and then wait about a minute before drinking an entire 16oz cup of room temp water.

The philosophy behind drinking it this way, is that you’re cleansing your body of most toxins early in the morning. Drink a little water at a time and the body doesn’t know that there is plenty of water around so, it stores water with toxins inside body tissue. By drinking a large glass in less than 5 minutes, it signals the brain to release stored water because it believes there’s plenty and you’ll be running to the bathroom in minutes. It’s pretty much the way I consume my water most of the time, it’s time efficient, the body releases water faster so you’ll urinate longer and less often than if you drink a little all day long. (At least that’s proven true for me.) Since every (BODY) is different, I encourage you to make your own science/body experiments and see what works best for you.

acv

MEDICATED CHAPSTICK

Go ahead laugh! Yes, I use this because it’s one of very few skin ointments I can use with my list of allergens… Since egg, almond, lemon and wheat are in so many in one form or another and that ever frustrating life-threatening Wheat-based Tocopherol is in just about all bubble bath, lotions, perfumes, hair sprays, shampoos and conditioners. This is my hand and face cream and the only thing I place on my face other than my shampoo (used for hand soap throughout my home and no-one can tell) and ACV.

I wash off makeup, using shampoo (AVEENO GREEN BOTTLE=NO WHEAT) and follow up by using ACV as a skin toner and I go close to eyes as well – it removes the dark color around eyes but be cautious, it’s strong smelling and will burn your eyes.. I don’t believe it will do any damage to eyes, but it will for sure burn (feeling wise) if it gets in. I’ve gotten it in my eyes countless times with no lingering symptoms. I am so happy with the look and tightness of my skin around my eyes, I will continue to use it and smile through the burn. 🙂 I remember when my daughter (makeup artist) did my makeup for a TV spot and she had to lift my brow to place eye shadow because the skin was sagging and loose. Now, it’s tight and I see better because the skin isn’t sagging and weighing down on the eye.

After cleansing with shampoo, toning both hands and face with ACV, I follow up by rubbing the Medicated Chapstick all over. My face and hands have lost age spots and the veins that show our age on the top of our hands reduce in size, the skin brightens and evens out. After al lthe toning with ACV I do facial muscle exercises (a blog for another day) as I rub in the Medicated Chapstick. Be sure to add a lot around the crows feet so you can say “bye-bye” crows feet tomorrow!

med-chapstick

aveeno-shampoo_300

— Eating healthy foods, drinking more than the recommended amount of water, sleep and staying stress-free by adding music to my day, seeing all of you smiling back at me at shows, my loving family is why I’m looking younger today than yesterday. (((HUGS)))

About Clare Rowley

I have always been passionate about all aspects of art since early childhood and I attribute the artistic process for making it possible for me to invent the Creative Feet sewing machine feet, free-motion Octi-Hoops Embroidery and Quilting Frames, the Thread Dispenser and my instructional DVD and Workbook. Now that I also own the Hoop-It-All line of products I have so much more to show you! This need to create is non-stop and I love to share my knowledge with those hungry to learn. View all posts by Clare Rowley

6 responses to “Healthy Skin, Hair and Nails

  • Sherry

    Claire, thank you for sharing all of this information and the detail. I am definitely going to give everything a try and track the changes. Lol, I actually started taking the ACV and Atomidine just after Thanksgiving and do feel better. I am going to get some Biodin and also use your tips about the ACV as toner and chapstick for moisturizer. I would love to have the sagging skin around my eyes diminish as I do believe it is starting to impact my vision.

    Athanks again for sharing.

    Like

  • Devona Maillard

    Met you late yesterday afternoon at the Quilt Show. Saving up to buy presser feet & hoops :). Thanks for the blog. Drank ACV this morning! Will try it & see how it goes. BTW – ACV is also a good hair rinse! Restores the acid balance to hair & skin I think.

    Like

    • Clare Rowley

      Yes it does! 🙂 it balances PH in hair, relaxes blood vessels on top of hands, sooths sore feet and so mich more! ….. great stuff!

      Like

    • Clare Rowley

      I used 1/2 cup AVC in my bath water and another 1/4 cup in my hair with a side of wetting napkins and applying to face and hands – It’s amazing how it doesn’t smell bad at all and just how soft your hair feels and how much younger your skin looks in only 1 application! People ask, why I look young – I reply ACV… and a few other things but …. there’s nothing like watching an age spot vanish in a couple days of re-applying it every hour! 🙂

      Like

    • Clare Rowley

      Yes it is 🙂 I also do a monthly 1/2 bottle bath – it’s awesome for all skin areas as a toner and you’ll find you need less lotion. Glad to see you’ve begun – the benefits are so vast! See you on YouTube!

      Like

Leave a Reply

