To Drink or Not to Drink — the water…

To Drink or Not to Drink --- the water...

Driving home from one of my sewing shows, I decided to drink the water that the hotel had provided me – despite my knowledge about the benefits of drinking spring water rather than the filtered tap water. This is because of the lack of Iodine – but to my surprise, after only 2 sips, I went into anaphylaxis and had to pull over to pass out!

Needless to say, I didn’t drink the rest of the bottle and once I had time, I went online to read about the process used and they brag about adding back in minerals. One of the ingredients is Tocopherol… and it knocks me out every time! A wheat derivative in most cases – so if you’re allergic to wheat or celiac, be warned and be mindful of this scary reality.

Bottled water that I’ve drank without an allergic reaction include : Poland Springs, Arrowhead, Smart Water, Evian & Figi I’m not sure if Aqua Fina has caused any reaction, I haven’t had any in years.

About Clare Rowley

I have always been passionate about all aspects of art since early childhood and I attribute the artistic process for making it possible for me to invent the Creative Feet sewing machine feet, free-motion Octi-Hoops Embroidery and Quilting Frames, the Thread Dispenser and my instructional DVD and Workbook. Now that I also own the Hoop-It-All line of products I have so much more to show you! This need to create is non-stop and I love to share my knowledge with those hungry to learn. View all posts by Clare Rowley

2 responses to “To Drink or Not to Drink — the water…

  • Fiona (@Fizza09)

    Tocopherol (vitamin E) is not always derived from wheat. It can come from other sources, e.g. Sunflower oil. I take vitamin E tablets which are gluten and wheat free. (I have Coeliacs disease), you just need to know the source of the tocopherol – always ask the manufacturer if you are in doubt. I am a bit worried that you may have scared wheat allergy sufferers or people with an auto immune illness like coeliac disease from taking tocopherol of any type.

    Like

    • Clare Rowley

      Not trying to scare anyone – just inform. If you have a safe source of Vitamin E – please feel free to provide the brand for those interested. I use Sunflower and Safflower oils however, there are few vitamins that don’t cause some issues with food allergies. The outer layer and release agent used in the mold as they make them are also a danger. The synthetic vs. the natural Tocopherol is likely a determining factor in its safety and unfortunately, packaging rarely indicates whether it’s D or DL – so better safe that sorry for me – If I don’t research – I don’t ingest.

      Everyone should review based on their own – unique issues. There are people unaware of the dangers at-all, they are in need of this information. I understand your disease and know the challenges you face. Mine are different from yours – allergic to not just wheat – as stated on my blog. This is my experience and I am happy to hear from others with products that I can use and would LOVE to hear of the brand you use, please share.

      However, there has been much controversy with regards to Vitamin E lately and I wonder sometimes about how much it’s used in products under that name “Tocopherol” and how many people are unaware of it. I know my Mother had begun to create pebbles of calcium in her feet from consuming too much calcium simply because so many products started adding it and she was supplementing on top of eating foods with it and also buying those with more added into their products.

      There IS a serious lack of real information for those interested in learning about vitamins and I’ve always been one to take them and try to stay up with the research.

      It’s nice that we’re starting to get more options for wheat free products but there is much still needed to create safe food for those suffering from any autoimmune disease or food allergies.

      This learning experience is incredible! So many hidden dangers lurk in our foods so, I’ll continue to share my experiences, welcome debate and information from anyone interested in helping us inform those interested.

      There is so much to learn with regards to food allergies (which is what this blog is about) and everyday there are more studies releasing from the medical industry. Things/Facts will change as discoveries are made and new products will continue to be released for us, not all will be safe despite their efforts. Everyday there are more and more vitamins releasing in the sublingual form and I’m able to take more:) of course, eating the vitamins in their natural state within healthy foods is ideal.

      We NEED our vitamins, but be mindful of the amount we’re suppose to ingest each day and then read the labels…. You can get too much of some.

      Those GLUTEN intolerant, living with Celiac/Coeliac and any other diseases that are told to stay away from the long-string proteins found in Wheat, Oat, Barley etc,,, the experience is different than when allergic to the entire wheat plant. Someone that is allergic to WHEAT but not OAT – can in-fact eat oat but not wheat and finds it difficult to breathe around WHEAT but not OAT products. Subsequently, the dangers vary and the need for the information posted here will also vary based on their individual situation. I personally can be breathing fine, until a person walks up wearing lotion or perfume, chewing gum, sucking on a mint or throat lozenge because wheat within these product shuts my airway down.

      If you have Celiac/Coeliac disease, you can likely use all the soaps, conditioners and lotions with wheat – but a person allergic cannot. I do my best to specify as best as I can but some Celiac/Coeliac patients get confused with the difference.(not saying you are confused)

      To help all of you understand the differences and read about the controversy over vitamin E – here are some articles that you may find useful. I would be careful to only trust articles written where studies have been conducted rather than someone just talking about it from a non-professional position. Some sites allow anyone to post their opinions and it can become very confusing. Therefore, I like to supply you with information should you want to learn more – but know this, there is much more available than this and they are learning more everyday about the body and it’s reaction to wheat, gluten and food allergies. This science is in it’s infancy and the findings are bound to change as more time passes. It’s best to keep studying as you live with your food issues – as the facts will change.

      http://www.webmd.com/vitamins-supplements/ingredientmono-954-VITAMIN%20E.aspx?activeIngredientId=954&activeIngredientName=VITAMIN%20E
      http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2004/11/041116233312.htm
      http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/newsletter/vitamin-e-from-wheat-germ-oil/
      http://healthyeating.sfgate.com/sunflower-source-vitamin-e-4303.html

      Like

Leave a Reply

