Hidden Ingredients in surprising locations that can hurt or kill someone allergic to foods.

Here are some names that you should print out and carry with you if you’ve been diagnosed with Gluten allergy, Wheat allergy, Celiac disease or borderline Autistic. – I wish you a healthy life~

  • Amino peptide complex
  • Amp-isostearoyl hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Avena sativa (oat) flour
  • Avena sativa (oat) flour kernel
  • Barley derived
  • Barley extract
  • Disodium wheatgermamido PEG-2 sulfosuccinateH
  • Hordeum vulgare (barley) extract
  • Hyrdrolyzed wheat gluten
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein PG-propyl silanetriol
  • Hydrolyzed wheat starch
  • Hydroxpropyltrimonium hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Oat (avena sativa) extract
  • Oat beta glucan
  • Oat derived
  • Oat extract
  • Oat flour
  • Phytophingosine extract
  • Rye derived
  • Sodium lauroyl oat amino acids
  • Triticum vulgare (wheat) flour lipids
  • Triticum vulgare (wheat) germ extract
  • Triticum vulgare (wheat) germ oil
  • Tocopherol
  • Tocopheryl acetate
  • Tocopheryl Stearate
  • Vitamin E (make sure it’s not derived from wheat)
  • Wheat (triticum vulgare) bran extract
  • Wheat amino acids
  • Wheat bran extract
  • Wheat derived
  • Wheat germ extracts
  • Wheat germ glycerides
  • Wheat germ oil
  • Wheat germamidopropyldimonium hydroxypropyl hydrolyzed wheat protein

Where might you find these ingredients?

  • Vitamins
  • Asprin
  • Tylenol products (products that have this added in)
  • Ibuprophen products 
  • Hard candies (even VEGAN)
  • Shampoos
  • Conditioner
  • Soaps
  • Lotions
  • Purfumes
  • Food

I will add more as time allows –

I wanted to push to release this because I took an OFF-BRAND of Advil and had to pull over in my car to nap (allergic napping) and it dawned on me that since Tocopheryl Stearate is used to release vitamins from the mold that forms them, it may be also in the coating on my lower-priced version of Advil (Ibuprofen) – It is… And Advil does not contain any – I was fine using it.. I am now going to add my pain relievers to the ever-growing list of items I must not buy.

I wish you a day without exposure and one filled with inspiration and the willingness to share this information with anyone else you may know that is allergic or suffering from these conditions.

 

My choice for Shampoo and Conditioner is Aveeno Active Naturals and only the Pure Renewal GREEN bottle. They’ve started adding Wheat protein to some of this line so be mindful to read the label. Especially because companies often change over years. I pray they don’t change this one.

HINT: Insert this brand’s shampoo into all of your hand-soap pumps for hand soap and no one will ever know it isn’t soap. Find a soap you know you can use and carry it with you to eliminate exposures in public or friend’s bathrooms.

Never use someone’s lotion! 

Till next post ((HUG))

About Clare Rowley

I have always been passionate about all aspects of art since early childhood and I attribute the artistic process for making it possible for me to invent the Creative Feet sewing machine feet, free-motion Octi-Hoops Embroidery and Quilting Frames, the Thread Dispenser and my instructional DVD and Workbook. Now that I also own the Hoop-It-All line of products I have so much more to show you! This need to create is non-stop and I love to share my knowledge with those hungry to learn. View all posts by Clare Rowley

18 responses to “Hidden Ingredients in surprising locations that can hurt or kill someone allergic to foods.

  • Laura West Kong, MPH (@GrainFreeFab)

    Allergic napping! So there’s a name for that. Who knew? Thanks for the list and have a great gluten free weekend.

    Like

  • rebecca huff

    Clare,
    Have you checked out the “Gut and Psychology Syndrome” Book, by Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride? It and her diet suggestions have helped me and my children so much! It is clear and easy to understand and offers real help for healing digestive issues— I got my copy on Amazon : http://www.amazon.com/Gut-Psychology-Syndrome-Depression-Schizophrenia/dp/0954852028/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1344128858&sr=8-1&keywords=gaps
    Hope you can read it soon! There’s no time to fool around with digestion problems! May the Lord Bless your diligence in searching for the truth– Rebecca

    Like

    • Clare Rowley

      Thanks Rebecca, I’ll check it out as time allows. having 10 food allergies is a full time job at times 😉 I wish you and your children a happy – healthy life too!

      Like

    • Clare Rowley

      While I’m sure this book would be helpful for those with digestive issues – mine are allergies and I’m doing great as long as I stay away from the foods I was tested and proven allergic to. Thanks

      Like

      • rebecca huff

        Food “Allergies” are Only A Symptom of a gut imbalance (perforated intestinal wall)— your gut wall is compromised, the food particles “leak” into your blood stream, and the body then sends out the Alarm— “Foreign Substance Detected!” — and then your body exhibits signs of “Allergy” or “sensitivity” — if you do not Heal the Gut lining you will Never experience relief from Food Allergies, and you will find that over time, there are more and more foods you are ‘allergic’ to—- that is why the Gut and Psychology Syndrome book will help you– the GAPS Diet, that is only stayed on for a limited time (not the ‘rest of your life’, like avoiding foods because of food allergies!) — heals the Gut Wall– thereby eliminating the CAUSE of the “allergy” symptom to begin with.

        Like

      • Clare Rowley

        My allergies have -0- to do with my gut. I can be around peanuts and have my airway close. I also can’t breathe the air when wheat is cooking. This book is perhaps a good thing for some but for those with true life-long allergies that are life-threatening it’s a realty based in science and has nothing to do with me having a perforated intestine. Perhaps further research into allergies vs, food intolerance is in order. I’m sure you’re well-meaning but I’ve lived with these allergies my entire life… my option is to not eat those foods and my life is great! 🙂

        Like

      • rebecca huff

        I am very glad that you have found something that works for you– I hope you are not offended by my caring and wanting to help– you have done best for yourself by doing research and finding what works for you– that is what we all must do– take responsibility for our own health—may you be blessed with a long and happy life—

        Like

      • Clare Rowley

        I’m not offended doll – just keep in mind the world is made up of unique individuals and no-on fits into one scenario… In any aspect of life 🙂 It’s all about sharing and that’s what you did… I appreciate that as some do have the issues spoken about in that book.

        Have an Inspired Day!

        Like

  • Hidden Ingredients in surprising locations that can hurt or kill someone | Allergy to Wheat - Symptoms Treatment

    […] the article: Hidden Ingredients in surprising locations that can hurt or kill someone This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged amino, autistic-, celiac, […]

    Like

  • Paula M, RN

    Clare, I, too, live with multiple food allergies. It sucks, in my opinion, but, at the same time, being allergic to chocolate, milk products, including cheeses, is likely the reason I am not grossly overweight, since I don’t exercise much in the winter.- And I love eating chocolate and cheese; -well, at least I used to. Of course, not anymore- my chocolate allergy is an intestinal attack, and having to support and pack my tummy around in my hands for about a week if I try to enjoy choco,. even including vegan, organic chocolate. So, I am trying to be grateful- especially after reading Dr. Russell L. Blaylock’s book “Excitotoxins, The Taste That Kills”, and Dr William G Crook, Md’s book “The Yeast Connection”. These books have taught me that my having to cook everything from scratch is really a blessing, since I am avoiding many of the poisons that are added to our foods so that we will want MORE of (that) food… and The Yeast Connection book has helped me, too. Your followers might be helped by checking them out at the library, Seems like those of us who have a candida overgrowth in their gut are more susceptible to allergies. Go figure. My allergies all started during the birth and hospitalization of my third child. I never was a junk-or-fast-food eater, really, because as a young mommy, I was super-poor. But, since my daughter’s birth, I have had to totally re-think how I ate. Its a bit tough while traveling, as I am sure you know. So, Clare, how do YOU do it while traveling? I think you must travel a lot for your business…

    Like

    • Clare Rowley

      Paula,

      Thank you so much for sharing – I’ve found 1 brand of chocolate I can eat – Enjoy Life and there is the Tootsie Company Chocolate Covered Cherries Cella Brand. My reason for not being able to eat any others is the peanut risk – I pass out within seconds of ingesting. 😦 I can however, create my own using cocco powder but haven’t taken the time to as of yet. I get what you’re saying about gaining weight – I would have not been able to avoid many foods had I not been scared to eat them. Now that I know my allergies – it’s a much faster trip through the grocery store … zoom, zoom, zoom……. by all the packaged foods and all of the tempting hygiene products. I use to cry about it – now I laugh… Time and feeling so much better makes up for all the missed bites of yummy foods I use to eat and suffer from.

      (((HUGS to a fellow foodie with food issues :)))))

      Like

      • Clare Rowley

        “UPDATE” I’ve eliminated the Tootsie brand “Cella” chocolate covered cherries – I kept passing out… 😦 Not sure what’s in these but it’s likely related to the release agent used within the mold. I will be writing Tootsie to find out – hopefully they’ll share the information so I can have a definitive answer to this puzzle.

        Like

      • Paula

        Oh, Claire! I used to adore the Cella cherries, too! YUM, huh! Now, I pay for them with pain if I eat one, too… I would LOVE to know these evil ingredients, too. Cant do coffee, peanuts cocoa, chocolate, pineapple, (I’m allergic to latex, too) tomatoes, onions, garlic, rye, anything bleached, — like bleached flour or white sugar, not even city water, (which my ex-spouse, who worked for city water, says there are at least 8 chemical ingredients in it) nor anything with ANY milk product in it, (and many capsules contain milk products,), nearly ALL chicken, (weirdly, I haven’t had a problem with Tyson all-natural panko breast chicken, but I rarely ever eat it, and it DOES even have onion powder, and maybe garlic! VERY WEIRD! – Isn’t it ODD that I can eat that, when chicken, onions, garlic from all other sources, including my garden, that I have tried make me SO sick?! But it has not swelled my face up, nor torn up my gut, nor has it knocked me out- I think. I’ve checked my blood glucose after eating and it is fine, so I know its not some diabetic condition that causes me to snocker off to sleep while I am eating. (and I dont drink alcohol.) Passing out pc has become such a habit that I dont even think of it anymore, really. I have to say, I am thrilled that my passing out after eating, often with my plate and utensil still in hand, has a name. Thanks, Claire! (OOH! And I AM finding out that if I am not using any cocoa/chocolate product for about 6 months, I can eat a SMALL amount of vegan, non-dutch-processed (alkalai-sp?) chocolate, like chips in a cookie, -once, with no serious consequences. Yay! I am also allergic to MSG, and its many, many forms. Its sole purpose in life is to make us want more of it (an excitotoxin) and the food industry does NOT have to label its addition into any food, provided they mix the MSG with another product before being added to the main food mixture in an amount under 50%. Isn’t that sweet of them? I was sick for years and years. Its taken me forever to try to localize what poisons are attacking me. I listened to Full Spectrum Survival’s youtube News In Two Minutes today, and they spoke of the chemicals that are added to the linings of food packaging. I have always felt sure that manufacturers add things like bug repellents to their cardboard packaging, or rodent repellent (if there is such a thing)- -after all, imagine how many packages would be decimated –in some hot warehouse filled to the top with pallets of boxes of cold cereal –by rodents, if mfgs were not using some nasty stuff to run them off? I have a friend who worked for the city once, and he said he has seen aluminum and steel items (both) that rats have eventually eaten through! I had NO idea they could go through steel, but I suppose if they can do that, a cardboard box wrapped in plastic shrink-wrap is no obstacle to them… especially if its loaded with chemicals the mfgs dont have to declare on the labels. OOps. I ‘booked’ you! I apologize! You are easy to talk with! I have to go cut up apples to dry for snacks later this winter. Hugs to Claire! Oh, –Claire, isn’t it odd that we women who have such STRONG self-discipline when it comes to creativity, often struggle with it in other areas of our lives? Mine is food. even ones I know will hurt me. pitiful me, then. I could go on about edibles and inhaled items that have tortured me for a lifetime, but I will refrain herewith… hehehe I am glad you are sharing for the sake of others tho! Stay strong! Strong women hold up the Earth!

        Like

      • Clare Rowley

        WOW! Now that was some reply! I must say, you’ve got some challenges I don’t and I feel for you. I never thought about the packaging!….. The deeper I dig, the deeper I get into this “food” issue and thank you so much!

        I personally am terrified to eat my allergens, love feeling good FINALLY, can’t stand being knocked down by them now that I know what feeling “good” really means. 🙂 That keeps me strong and away from all candy…

        I made a batch of candy and used… corn starch – I left some in a cup and it took hours for it to soften so that I might wash the cup – after that, I tossed the candy. UGH.. anything that takes hours to dissolve in water surely won’t sit well in my body.

        I wish you the strength to stay away from your allergens. It may be Carrot that’s making you sick on the Chicken front… since you’re also allergic to Latex. It appears that Carrot allergy links to Latex allergy… it did with me.

        ALL chicken, meat, seafood sold in Sams Club and Walmart is filled with BROTH… for added flavor they say… but it’s got Carrot in it – and Garlic – Lemon… and likely Wheat. What makes their meat NEED the ADDED FLAVOR???? I shudder to think!

        I can eat all Costco meats without becoming sick – and most Fry’s (Kroger) as well. I can only eat FREE Range NATURAL (go figure) Turkey as well. Turns out, those Turkeys are fed EGGS & NUTS and I think that’s NUTS! lol

        Have an INSPIRED Healthy Day!

        Like

      • Paula

        Aw, Claire! Thanks for the info! I will investigate it! And here is a great candy recipe that I just love- dont know if you can enjoy it, but its simple and yum…”Ree Haas’ (Sesame or) Peanut Brittle” (I know you can’t do peanuts, Claire, but I cant, too, so I use sesame seed, or toasted sunflower seeds, or pumpkin seeds, anything would be good, I think, whatever a person could tolerate… however, this is a recipe created by a dearly-departed patient of mine, and her husband gave me the recipe so I feel I need to use the ‘proper’ title, to honor her) You’ll need: …at least a 600 power microwave… Mix in a 2 qt (at least) microwavable bowl, (I use glass, because the sugar gets REALLY hot) 1 Cup sugar (I use demerara) 1 Cup peanuts, (again, I use sesame seeds, lightly toasted in the oven) 1/2 c corn syrup, (NOT high fructose, as it contains MSG aka free glutamic acid) and a small pinch of salt. Cook on high power for 8 minutes, stirring after 4 minutes. Remove from the micro, and add 1 TB liquid vanilla, 1 TB butter, stir into bowl; (I use margarine) return to the oven and cook on high for 2 more minutes. Remove from the micro, and add 1 tsp soda. It will foam a bit. Stir, to incorporate the mix with the soda, then pour it into a ‘buttered’ jelly-roll pan or platter. Cool, break into pieces, store airtight. Usually around Christmas, I crave candy, and this is one recipe that I can easily adjust to ‘fit’ my allergies. its a brittle, and I have yet to try diced, dried fruits, along with the sesame seeds, but I think I will try it this winter. Ree was a beautiful person, and before she got ill, and her husband was our patient, Ree ALWAYS brought the nurses a batch of her candy! A Great lady! I pour my candy out onto an old metal cookie sheet- enameled, that belonged to my grandma, as its easier for me to happily whack when set, with the handle of a butter knife to break into pieces, than it would be on a glass or china platter. You have a beautiful night, Claire! I cant WAIT to check out the carrots- thought! Oh, and one Doc I used to tell my woes to thought since I am allergic to eggs, that I was likely only allergic to hens, (chx and turkey) because of the egg-laying hormone connection. I will tell you that I certainly DO have less trouble tummy-wise with tom turkey than I do with a hen turkey. Thank you for the good wishes! They will help me!

        Like

      • Clare Rowley

        Interesting thought about the Hen/Tom angle, I do also have that egg allergy and never thought about that – but chicken is chick-en and female and I don’t get sick from those from companies that don’t infuse with broth…

        As for the peanut issue – where do you find peanut free nuts? I want some cashews but I’ve only found one source that has peanut free and can’t imagine ever using 110 pounds of them…

        I’ll have to check out the differences on the corn starch and perhaps play around again – thank you for the recipe I’m sure I’ll not be the only one trying it this holiday season!

        Like

      • Paula

        OUCH! I just realized I have been spelling your beautiful name wrong, Clare! I am SO sorry! Please forgive me. As for the nuts question, …”As for the peanut issue – where do you find peanut free nuts? I want some cashews but I’ve only found one source that has peanut free and can’t imagine ever using 110 pounds of them…” …I get mine from my sister’s and my brother’s trees in their yards. I have black walnuts, but they have English walnuts. Also, in the winter, I like to buy nuts in the shell at the market, and crack them then freeze them. I would assume one could obtain nuts in the shell, (or even shelled ones sometimes) from folks running the local orchards. We have a friend here that has a fruit stand, and huge orchards, where we pick our own fruit, or buy the fruit his family picks. (costlier, of course, for pre-picked) As far as cashews go, I think, -am not sure, -that cashews are grown in tropical climes. They are not, of course, a shelley-nut, at least not like we know nuts to be, since they are actually an appendage of a fruit. I cant help but wonder if you can find someone who grows them in Brazil or Argentina- but I think I am personally not brave enough to stray far off the beaten path for them. I, too, love cashews. And they often give me a bellyache if I go weak and buy a bag of them to munch,. I ALWAYS regret buying them from the grocery store. I think to find non-contaminated ones, I would go to the local Health food store (we call ours the ‘hippie’ store, because the folks that have it live an alternate, earthy lifestyle. -Besides, my sibbies were all hippies at one time, as teens. 🙂 Those folk are pretty good at helping me find organic foods, and sometimes foods that are packaged exclusively from other foods, so there isn’t cross-contamination. Here at home, however, I like to sit down to a movie, with a bag of nuts and my little craft vise, and crack nuts while enjoying the luxury of a movie. (I don’t often watch tv.) While its convenient to have the nuts pre-shelled when you want to make goodies, there is something to be said for leaving the nuts in the shell until one needs them, -and that is, they stay sweet longer in the shell and have less tendency to become rancid (the oils in the nuts) Good luck finding the non-contaminated nuts, Clare! I hope your holidays are beautiful, blessed, fun, and crafty!

        Like

      • Clare Rowley

        It’s fine, my name is spelled incorrectly all the time, I don’t let things like that bother me 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

