Living with food allergies is a process~

Grocery shopping has changed considerably! Normally, I would be prepared with list-in-hand and rarely referred to it, as I knew what I liked and what foods I should eat. I knew the foods that were healthiest for my diet and was dedicated to being healthy for a few years now. Little did I know, just about all the food that I was accustomed to preparing, were secretly making me ill.

When I say ill, it wasn’t easily identifiable – I didn’t go into Anaphylactic shock or display any outward signs of having a serious allergy. I knew however, that I was not feeling as good as I should based on what I was eating and I was tired of popping a pill just to eat. Sometimes, one pill (antacid) wasn’t enough.

Years before the drug companies released the convenient pills they offer today,  I would frequently spontaneously vomit after eating. Sometimes I wouldn’t reach that level until 2 – 3 am when I’d wake sweating and salivating until I finally just forced myself to regurgitate.

I spoke with my doctor about it and he said to try eliminating foods to determine which ones were making me feel sick. Years of eliminating served me little and I wasted a lot of money on pills, avoided some foods I am not allergic to, I was finally eating so little that I was a complete bore at gatherings where pot luck meals are served. I stared at the spread of food with a fear knowing later that night, I’d be suffering.

Another conversation I had with my doctor was that I wasn’t breathing well, I picked up a pamphlet in his waiting room on asthma and I had all the symptoms listed and after reading it and thinking about it, I realized I’d always had these symptoms. I remember being as young as 8 and feeling as though I had to ‘Think to Breathe” and if I had to give you a number for the times I lost consciousness during my lifetime, it would surely be over 300 times!

I remember thinking this is what was wrong with me all those years! I have asthma! What a relief to understand my problem, but I was mistaken. I did have asthma symptoms but I had what the doctor classified as Allergy Induced Asthma.

About Clare Rowley

I have always been passionate about all aspects of art since early childhood and I attribute the artistic process for making it possible for me to invent the Creative Feet sewing machine feet, free-motion Octi-Hoops Embroidery and Quilting Frames, the Thread Dispenser and my instructional DVD and Workbook. Now that I also own the Hoop-It-All line of products I have so much more to show you! This need to create is non-stop and I love to share my knowledge with those hungry to learn. View all posts by Clare Rowley

Leave a Reply

