AIA = Allergy-Induced Asthma (ugh)

Allergy-Induced Asthma is the title for my diagnosis, offered to me some 18 years back and if you think about the name, you may think that the doctors would find out what you were allergic to once they determine that something you’re allergic to is making you unable to breathe. However they would rather give you a chemical inhaler with steroids to reduce the symptom than find the cause.

I am grateful for the inhalers, they make it so I can breathe on days when there are fires, when polution levels are dangerously high, when I wanted to excercise and on and on and on….

One day my doctor said, the inhaler that you’ve been using for years has been changed by the FDA because evidently they are toxic enough to cause the ozone to break down! I was not feeling so good about using the inhaler after that statement but what else could I do? If I couldn’t breathe, I couldn’t breathe, so I kept using it. My life was changed – I had to carry it with me or I’d panic!

Looking back I wish that I had thought more about the name of my condition and got some answers instead of just accepting what my doctor offered as a solution. ALLERGY-induced Asthma……..

What am I allergic to? What allergen is making me gasp for breathe? I hope that others learn from my experience and find out what food allergies you may have so that you can stop eating them.

 

I found out that I’m allergic to foods that I never eliminated in my elimination diet – that I in-fact was eating mostly foods that I’m allergic to!

A simple blood test and some self-control and I have only used my inhaler once! Over 2 weeks and only needed it once! I just got back from a 2 mile jog, yes a jog! I didn’t take my inhaler with me and I didn’t even think to use it before I left! My life in only 2 weeks has improved so much that I just want to scream it from the roof-tops so others like me can be free too!

About Clare Rowley

I have always been passionate about all aspects of art since early childhood and I attribute the artistic process for making it possible for me to invent the Creative Feet sewing machine feet, free-motion Octi-Hoops Embroidery and Quilting Frames, the Thread Dispenser and my instructional DVD and Workbook. Now that I also own the Hoop-It-All line of products I have so much more to show you! This need to create is non-stop and I love to share my knowledge with those hungry to learn. View all posts by Clare Rowley

One response to “AIA = Allergy-Induced Asthma (ugh)

Leave a Reply

