Dealing with Allergies – part 2

Acceptance

It doesn’t come easy when all of a sudden you know that you shouldn’t eat all the foods that you like. A friend of mine suggested that I simply take all of the foods I can’t eat any longer and get them out of the house. Of course this is easier if you live alone, for those of you that have a family to deal with, perhaps making the garage fridge yours, or theirs could help.

I listened to the suggestion and looked at myself in the mirror and said, this is a “good thing” you know why you’ve been getting sick. Today is the day you stop feeling sick after you eat! I prepared myself for this task and started to actually get excited at the prospect of not needing to pop a pill to make my stomach settle down after eating. You see, I’ve been dealing with quite a few symptoms from eating these foods that I once considered healthy.

I had been trying my best to do as one doctor had suggested – to eliminate foods to determine which foods you’re allergic to. I can tell you this, that was a waste of time and only made me suffer unnecessarily for over a decade. If you’re only allergic to one food this may be possible but if you’re allergic to garlic like I am, you’ll find it nearly impossible without a blood test. If you want to see just how hard it is to eat food without eating garlic, go into your fridge right now and start reading the labels. You’re going to be shocked at how little is left in your house that doesn’t contain some garlic, including just about all of my salt-free (trying to be healthy) seasonings.

In just over 2 hours, I had an almost empty refrigerator and almost empty cupboards. Keep in mind that garlic is not my only allergy, it’s just 1 of 10.  I sat there on the floor, staring into the shiny glass shelves and pondered about what I would be putting on them now that just about every salad dressing, bread, marinade, ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise, (even the healthier choice I’d already had been eating) and last but not least sweet pickle relish had been eliminated from my choices.

Once it was all out in my garage fridge, I cried again. I didn’t sob, just a few tears and days of tearing up followed….

About Clare Rowley

I have always been passionate about all aspects of art since early childhood and I attribute the artistic process for making it possible for me to invent the Creative Feet sewing machine feet, free-motion Octi-Hoops Embroidery and Quilting Frames, the Thread Dispenser and my instructional DVD and Workbook. Now that I also own the Hoop-It-All line of products I have so much more to show you! This need to create is non-stop and I love to share my knowledge with those hungry to learn. View all posts by Clare Rowley

Leave a Reply

